Life In The Fast Lane

Oh dear. Haven’t posted in a few days, and so much has happened.

I made amends with someone I hated for no real reason, I got my driver’s permit, and one of my closest friends got in an accident…

It’s a waste to hold a grudge on someone, really. It’s hazardous, and the anger you feel could end up spilling over onto the people you really do care about. Plus, who are you trying to prove it to? No one cares if you show a little weakness or swallow your pride and just make up with the person. And did they really do something so bad that  you can’t even manage a nice thought towards them? No. It happened months ago. Yes, it was wrong, and it did hurt a whole hell of a lot, but it’s over and done with now. Move on.

(That’s just the little pep talk I gave myself so I could finally get over a bad grudge.)

So, there’s a little story with my permit. My mom was taking me down to the DMV to get my permit on Friday, right? Everything’s going fine, until we realize that we do not have 1. My birth certificate, 2. My passport, or 3. My school ID. So we had to turn right back around and go get it. Well, it turns out that the power shut off in my area, so the traffic lights and everything were out. We got in the house, got everything, and started all over again. When we got there, I went through the eye test and giving papers and signing things and blah. I went into the room and took the test. I missed 4 questions and skipped one, but the status at the end said that I’d passed! So now, I have my driver’s permit.

Time to sober up here. Kids, don’t play in the street. Isn’t that what your mom always told you? Well, it still rings true. Even just messing around with your friends can land someone in jail, in the hospital, and even in the morgue. We’re just lucky the last one didn’t happen. This is the first time I’ve ever had anything serious and life-threatening happen to any one of my friends, and let me tell you something, it’s extremely scary. I can’t even describe the past 3 days. I’ve spent them sitting, waiting, worrying, and generally not knowing. Some of my friends are more shaken than I am, but that’s to be expected. It’s hard for all of us. I keep thinking, “What if it was someone else? What if it was worse? What if he got killed?” But, I’ve tried to be positive, and think, “Well, at least this didn’t happen.” I guess it’s all we can do, at this point.

Love and Life,

Liz.

One thought on “Life In The Fast Lane

  1. Hey LIZZ!!!!!!! I just thought that I would leave you with some of the interesting facts about giraffes. Some of them I know that you already know, but enjoy! :)

    The average lifespan of a giraffe in the wild is 25 years.

    Male giraffes are called bulls. Females are known as cows and baby giraffes are referred to as calves.

    Giraffes have black tongues that can extend approximately 20 inches. Their tongues are prehensile which means that it can grab and hold onto objects.

    A female giraffe gives birth to a single offspring after a gestation period of approximately 15 months. Females give birth standing up. Baby giraffes are 6 feet tall and weigh an average of 150 pounds when they are born.

    Each giraffe has unique markings that distinguish it from others. No two giraffes have exactly the same makings.

    A giraffe’s neck can measure up to 5 feet in length.

    A giraffe can run at a speed of 35 miles per hour. They have also been known to jump up to 6 feet.

    Male giraffes stand up to 18 feet tall and weigh up to 4,000 pounds. Females grow up to 16 feet tall and weigh approximately 2,500 pounds.

    Giraffes need very little sleep and may only sleep between 20 minutes to two hours out of a twenty-four hour period.

    Giraffes have elongated vertebrae in their necks that protrude at the top of the giraffe’s head forming small blunt horns.

    The color of a giraffe’s coat tends to become darker with age.

    A giraffe eats about 140 pounds of food a day.

    The hooves of an adult giraffe are about 12 inches wide.

    A male giraffe can tell if a female is fertile by tasting her urine. Male giraffes perform a type of dance to impress fertile females.

    Giraffes have excellent vision and are able to perceive color.

    Giraffes can go for weeks without drinking water but even so they still usually seek water every few days. Giraffes derive much of their water from the plants they eat.

    At one time it was believed that giraffes were mute but they do make sounds. A form of communication used by giraffes is called infrasound and cannot be heard by humans. Giraffes do grunt, snort and bellow.

    Fossil records of the giraffe date back to approximately 1.5 million years.

    A giraffe’s markings act as camouflage allowing them to hide among the trees.

    The front legs of a giraffe are longer than the hind legs.

    Every step a giraffe takes is 15 feet in length.

    A lion can die if kicked by a giraffe.

    A giraffe’s heart is 24 pounds in weight and 2 feet in length.

Leave a Reply

