Kids In Love

I find it funny that a simple song that I’ve heard a thousand times over can still bring a big, goofy grin spreading from one of my ears to the other. It’s really just the memory I associate it with, but still. It’s like I’m living the moment all over again.

There are a select group of songs that, when I hear them, I am immediately brought back to the summer before we all started high school (mainly Angels On The Moon by Thriving Ivory). Or, there’s one song that my best friend from 2nd through 5th grade used to sing, and I’m reminded of him every time I hear it (Pretty Fly For A White Guy was popular back then, okay?). One song even takes me back to kindergarden, when I would sing it on the bus home from school (granted, it was an Alicia Keys song, but I was, and always will be, a weird kid).

It’s funny how drastically my musical tastes have changed since then. I was really influenced by the people I hung around with, and still am.

Ahh, sick days give me a chance to really think about things. I like it.

On to a topic that I have always felt strongly about: teenage love.

To quote someone very close to my heart, “I think teenagers love better than adults, because we are young and we have all the time in the world, supposedly, to spend with the other person. We can truly devote ourselves without having to worry about bills and sex and our jobs.” Well, most of us, for that part. =P

I don’t know if I quoted that completely accurately, because I always have a hard time remembering conversations, but that was the basic jist of it.

Teenagers, most of them, realize that the relationship they are currently in may or may not be permanent. We’ve all heard of those couples who met in high school and have been in love ever since, and are still married to this day. After being in a relationship that I never thought would end, and seeing that relationship terminate, I feel wiser. With that guy, there was no doubt in my mind that I would marry him and we’d have 9 children and live happily ever after (not really, I don’t think I could even handle one kid), and where are we now? We’ve both moved on and dated other people, or are currently dating other people. But the thing is, that was both mine and his first relationship. We didn’t know any better. Well, now I do, and though it hurt, we learned from it.

I know that there is a very real possibility that any guy I get involved with in high school could wind up spending the rest of his life with me, but I also know that the realer chance is that he won’t. I always keep that in mind when I start to get serious with a new guy; in the back of my mind, but it’s still there. I need to keep a good head on my shoulders.

I’m going to love like a (smart) teenager, though. Blissfully ignorant, but aware when I need to be.

Love and Kids,

Liz.

2 thoughts on “Kids In Love

  1. I like your philosophy about teen love too.
    I think about it the same way. ANYTHING is possible, but don’t get too serious about something that can also, not happen at all.
    Just go with the flow, whatever happens, happens.

Leave a Reply

