My Mother’s Daughter

I never realized when I was a kid that the movie My Girl would hold so much meaning for me in the future. Vada is a little girl whose mom died in childbirth, and her best friend dies when she’s 11. For some reason, I felt such a strong connection to this movie when I first saw it as a kid, and now I think I know why. It’s a powerful movie. This girl has been dealing with grief her whole life. And for a moment, I knew just what that felt like. It seems like it’s been a lifetime since my mom died. I can hardly imagine life with her now, just because everything has changed so much and… well, she doesn’t belong here anymore. Of course I mean none of this in a bad way. But if you take apart my words one by one, it’s how I feel. Although sometimes I can predict what songs she would like today. I like to think that I’m right. But I really can’t know. I never will. But I can hold on to her favorites of the past. And I’ll always have pictures and videos of her if I begin to forget what she’s like.

Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

